How To REALLY Close a Sale

Tiffany Largie
3 min readJul 8, 2016

Ten years ago, I was a person who was desperate to make a dollar. I was a single mom who couldn’t feed herself, I could barely feed my children, and more importantly, I didn’t have any options.

Every day was a struggle. Going to a job and getting paid $10 an hour just wasn’t an option for me. I lived in Miami, Florida; there was no way I was going to survive off of 10 bucks an hour.

Entrepreneurship was the light at the end of the tunnel. Over the last 10 years, I’ve taken the concept and platform of not allowing myself to think small. I built three multiple six-figure businesses and a multiple-seven.

I hear all the time this question: How do I close the sale? Whether it’s been from a sales rep, someone on my team or new clients that I coach.

I’m going to tell you that there are tips and strategies and tactics and phrases and words you should never use with customers — by not sounding salesy.

You really want to know how to close the sale? It starts here:

You’ve got to believe in the value; you’ve got to believe in the value of the product you’re selling. How many times do I hear someone say, “Well, how much does it cost?” And you say, “Well, it costs $295. $2,595. $3,000,,” and you almost want to choke. If you don’t believe in the value of the product that you’re selling, no one else is going to believe it either. Let me repeat. If you don’t believe it, they won’t believe it either.

Think about in this concept…Ruth’s Chris verses Longhorn. At the end of the day, they both sell steak, but here’s the truth. When I go into a Ruth’s Chris, I’m sitting inside of that steakhouse and they tell me, “Yes, that steak is $7,595,” and they don’t bat an eye. That waiter almost looks at me and makes me feel like I should be glad. You should be lucky. You’re lucky that it’s only that price.

If you can see the value of the product or service that you sell, you can sell at whatever price you want. You convey to the client, or the prospect that you believe it by your diction, by your stance, and by your delivery.

I’m going to challenge you. I’m going to ask you when you give that price, proposal, offer, what do you sound like? Do you believe it? Do you firmly say to the customer, “Yes, absolutely. It’s $595,” or are you struggling over your words?

What are you doing? This is really the key.

This is really where it begins. This is the core of how you close a sale.

If you believe what you’re saying, they will believe it too.

If you don’t believe it, you say it like you don’t believe it, try to shift or change what it sounds like, you’re going to create doubt in your client’s mind and more importantly, it’s not fair to the client you’re trying to sell the product to. You don’t have the right to ask them for the money, because you don’t believe in the price. You don’t believe in the value.

Closing the sale starts with knowing the value of the product and service and believing in it first. Let that sink in

I’ll be back again to talk about tips and tactics and strategies that you can use, but for now focus on step one.

I can’t wait to connect with you. Come hang out with me. Come find me on Twitter, Facebook, somewhere, anywhere.

Most importantly make sure you subscribe to my channel and come join our community. The instructions on how to do so are below.

I can’t wait to connect with you.

Shine On,

Tiffany Largie

--

--

Tiffany Largie

Founder of #OnwardsToFreedom, Community for Dreamers & Entrepreneurs worldwide who are done settling. Story, Sales & Marketing Strategist. AKA The Shadow CEO.